Exmortem started back in 1992 and was at that time called Mordor. The first demo “Souls Of Purity” was released in 1993 and, not wasting any time, the debut album “Labyrinths of Horror” was recorded the following year and released in June 1995, by Euphonious Records. In 1997 Exmortem was ready with a new recording, this time it was the promo tape called “Dejected“. This lead to a new signing with Euphonious Records, who in 1998 released the second album “Dejected in Obscurity“. Later in 1998 Exmortem released a new promo tape and two of the tracks from that tape was later released on a split 7″ vinyl in 1999.

After that Exmortem started to work more professionally and that led to a new line-up with two new members in Simon (vocals) and Reno (drums) and with them a new promo-CD was recorded in 2000. Finally in the end of 2000, the band entered the studio to record the “Berzerker Legions” album which was released in May 2001 by Hammerheart Records. After the release of “Berzerker Legions” The Aarhus band got more known in the international metal scene and after having played shows in lots of European countries the band started to work on the next album. This let to the signing with Osmose production who released the fourth album “Pestilence Empire” in December 2002. Quickly, the combo was on European tours and several other shows, plus released two exclusive vinyl releases. With the re-release of Berzerker Legions in the US the band for the first time made a widely distributed release from Exmortem available in the United States.

In 2005 Earache/Wicked World released “Nihilistic Contentment” in Europe and the US. Exmortem followed the release touring England with Behemoth, cementing the presence in the live international scene. Sadly, “Funeral Phantoms”, released in 2008, by Mighty Music, was to be the swansong of the band, who disbanded a couple of years after, with its members spreading all around the Danish scene, to bands such as Illdisposed, Koldborn or Horned Almighty.

Last line-up:
Martin “Sigtyr” Thim: guitars
Simon: vocals
Andreas “Mephistopheles” Schubert: bass, guitars
Morten Siersbæk: drums
Kim Nielsen: bass